oh yeah this is a weird one, personally I think of block as "stop this person from contacting me", I suppose because I think of blocking phone numbers as the original definition of block. I don't put too much value in "don't show this person I exist" because it's not immune to new accounts or logged-off use. At the very least this distinction could be communicated better. Maybe if you click block, pop up a confirmation dialogue:
Are you sure?
This person will no longer see your posts or comments.
(checkbox) Also don't show me their posts or comments.
Very weird that this isn't the case.
16 people like this idea